A listening governor

Governor of Lagos State
Governor of Lagos State

SIR: The Governor of Lagos State, Mr Akinwunmi Ambode has not only proved his readiness to seriously consolidate on the performance of his predecessor, but has also proved to be a listening public servant. I wrote an open letter to the Governor published in The Nation Wednesday August 5, page 19, on solution to the teething traffic gridlocks across the state, calling for the reopening of Alimosho junction of the Lagos-Abeokuta Expressway, blocked by the Federal Emergency Road Maintenance Agency (FERMA) last year.

The road which allows free-flow of traffic in Dopemu, Iyana-Ipaja, Abule egba, Agege and Egbeda axis was created three years by former Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola in response to my suggestions through private and open letters. Like I stated in my open letter to Governor Ambode, it worked like magic.

To my amazement and excitement, the state government has again opened the Alimosho link road on Lagos-Abeokuta Expressway on Tuesday September 1, barely one month after The Nationpublished my open letter to Governor Ambode. I hereby express my eternal gratitude to The Nationfor giving me the opportunity to express myself.

Like Oliver Twist, I will also remind the governor of a kilometer L-shaped road leading to my hotel at Mosan-end of the Federal Low Cost Housing Estate (Shagari Estate), in Mosan-Okunola Local Council Development Area. It was built by me some 18 years ago with street lights and personal maintenance without any form of government assistance.

The road which has turned into an alternative route to people of Baruwa, Abesan Estate, Ipaja, Ayobo and Ikola E.T.C Years ago, following the construction of the Iyana-Ipaja/Ayobo Expressway, is now seriously dilapidated, begging for your government’s attention. Please yield our distress call sir

  • Tony Adenubi

Source: The Nation

Leave a Reply

